Staying safe online

If you’re worried about someone knowing you’ve visited this website, please read the following safety information for advice about keeping yourself safe online.

Delete your browsing history

Internet browsers keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a ‘history’. To delete history for Internet Explorer and Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key (Ctrl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that say www.rise.org.uk, right click and choose Delete.

Private browsing

All leading web browsers have a “private browsing” mode that, once enabled, won’t leave any traces of your activity on your computer (no history, web cache or anything else) and so it’s always a useful first step to take.

Internet Explorer

Go to Safety – Tools – “InPrivate Browsing”.

Firefox

Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines – “New Private Window”.

Chrome

Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines and select “New Incognito Window”.

Similar options can be found in Opera and Safari.

It is also best to double check that nothing has been stored by following the steps below.

Internet Explorer

Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK. Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labelled Delete all offline content and click OK. Under History, click on Clear History and then OK. Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally, Clear Forms.

Firefox

Click on Tools and then Options, then click on Privacy. Click on the Clear button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.

Quick close button

The pink QUICK CLOSE button at the top of the RISE website will quickly hide the page but you will still need to delete your history fully cover your tracks.

Toolbars

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose “Clear Search History”.

Don’t forget to log out

If you use tools such as the Women’sAid Survivor’s Forum, don’t forget to log out of your account when you have finished your browsing session so no one else can log in as you.

General security

If you don’t use a password to log onto your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track what you are looking at online. Use a secure password to prevent this.

All of the above information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites. The safest way to find information on the internet is at a library, a friend’s house, or at work.

You can click here for more information about Digital abuse and online stalking.